Ma. Erica Flores – Property Manager

ma-erica-flores-vaHi, I’m Erica – your rock star virtual assistant. My friends call me Ecka for short. Which I find much better compared to my childhood nickname which is – I prefer not to mention haha!

I’m 23 years of age with 2 daughters. And yes, I’m a teen mum. It’s not something to be proud of, to be honest. But, I’m proud of how I overcame the struggles, judgment of other people and the fact that I don’t have any idea how to raise a child of my own. Being the youngest and the “baby” in our family makes it hard to adjust to motherhood. Plus, the fact that the father of my eldest is not-so-responsible makes it super hard, financially and emotionally. We decided to separate a year after my eldest was born. I moved back to my mum’s house and applied to a call center. Luckily, I was hired as a Customer Service Representative. I worked there for 2 years. I enjoyed my work, especially the friendships that I built with my co-workers. I was working for a year when I engaged in a relationship again.

A few months after, we decided to build our family. I fell pregnant again with my youngest. It was hard to work when you’re pregnant, especially if it’s a delicate one. There was a time when I was rushed to the emergency room because I was having contractions. My ob-gyn advised me to rest for a month. But I decided to quit my job instead because I didn’t want to be a headache to the management. ma-erica-flores-hikingThey were in need of people at that time and I knew that my body couldn’t handle the job even if I wanted to… so better to leave the job open for someone else to fill.

I then started searching for an online job. I fell in love with the idea that I could work comfortably at home with my family. No hassle in commuting. You don’t have to wear formal clothes every day and I can still look after my family even if I’m working. I watched tutorials on how to apply for a home-based job, enrolled in paid training, and joined some Facebook groups that would help me find a job online. After months and months of searching, I finally got my first online job. I was hired as a general virtual assistant or property manager. My main task was to handle properties, cleaning management, admin tasks, email support, and social media management. Though it is only a part-time job, I really love the work especially because I have a very kind boss.

For a copy of Erica’s resume please click here.