Cecilia Olis – Human Resource Management

cecilia-olis-profileHello! I’m Cecilia Olis, but you can call me Cecil. I am married and now have a 5-year old daughter.

As a working mum, I always remind myself to be strong and work hard to provide for the needs of my child. As much as possible, I don’t want my child to experience what I have experienced during my childhood days.

My mother died when I was six and that was also the start of my struggle. I have four siblings. Every day we needed to wake up at 4:00am for us to prepare for school and during weekends we helped our father to do the farming. When I was about to finish High School, I had dreamt of going to college but I always thought to myself that, it’s only a dream. There is a saying “ Poverty is not the hindrance to success” but for me it is really a hindrance. But still I studied hard. I graduated with Honours and that was my first achievement.

At the age of 15 years I went to the City to look for a job to earn money in order to help our family. I applied as a Sales Lady. Fortunately, I got hired for Php100/day salary. After a year, I got accepted to a Scholarship Program. Because, I achieved a good grade during High School, I got a scholarship offer from one of the politicians in our place. All I had to do was to maintain high grades for them to continue to support my studies.

I took up Bachelor of Science in Commerce major in Management Accounting. I always stayed in the library to study. Sometimes, I only eat breakfast and dinner, and no lunch because of my tight allowance. I tried the AVON and BOARDWORK selling while studying for extra income. After years of hard work, I graduated with “ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE WITH HONOURS” in college.

Three days after graduation, I started to work as a Clerk in an Oil Company (Small Company), handling calls, and follow–up payment from clients, accept orders from customers. After a month, I got an offer from another Company in Manila for Payroll In-Charge role. I grabbed the opportunity because I really needed a higher salary rate to support my father and also to help my sister to go to College. As a Payroll In-Charge, I reviewed time sheets, wage computation, process paperwork for new employees and enter employee information into the payroll system, verify attendance, hours worked, and pay adjustments, and post information onto designated records, compute wages and deductions, and enter data into computers, record employee information, such as exemptions, transfers, and resignations, to maintain and update payroll records, keep track of leave time, such as vacation, personal, and sick leave, for employees, distribute and collect timecards each pay period, and issue and record adjustments to pay related to previous errors or retroactive increases.

After two years, I got an offer from the owner of the same company for a new position and that’s Accounting In-Charge / Cashier / Payroll In-Charge and they also pay me with a much higher rate than my previous position.

After years of working, they offered me again the same job title but at a different Company since they ventured into Realty Business. I performed Bank Reconciliation, Purchasing, Liason, processing of payment to consultant, attend meetings with the owner and consultant, prepare minutes of the meeting, prepare coffee, and ordering food for them.

After almost 4 years working, I decided to quit my job and went back to Cebu. The owner offered me the HRD Administrator role in their business in Cebu, so, I grabbed the opportunity. As HRD Administrator, I oversee the payroll and compensation and benefits. Handling events in our company like Company Outing and Christmas Party. I really love the job as an HR. But then again, we always look for a greener pasture. I got an offer in a Service Contractor Company as an HRD Supervisor, they offered me much higher salary also and good benefits. I perform recruitment and screening, orientation of newly hired employees, conduct trainings every month, re – orientation of all project personnel, Timekeeping, process SSS, Philhealth, and Pag-ibig remittances of employees, attend labor hearing. Making reports through google sheets, reports like, recruitment status, turn – over rate, 201 filing audit findings, SSS Deliquency report, ManCom cecilia-olis-bondinginstruction status.

From a Sales Lady, I now have made a name for myself that I am really proud of. For me, the struggles that I went through made me a better person. Being open for new opportunities bring me to success. The acquired skills and knowledge that I have is my weapon for better future.

Although, I’m a newbie in this platform, I believe that with my proven commitment to delivering a highest level of the task given, I can contribute a positive impact in the new industry that I’ll be working on. I also learned from your website that Reliability is the most important attribute a Virtual Assistant should have.

I am thrilled at the prospect of bringing my talents to your growing company.

Thank you.

For a copy of Cecilia’s resume please click here.