Mae Joy Templora Lazaro – CSR and ESL Tutor

mae-joy-lazaro-profileGood day! I’m Mae Joy Lazaro, my family and friends call me Joy for short. I’m 35 years old and happily married with 4 kids.

I am a fulltime housewife and a part-time online English teacher by night. I am a registered nurse by profession but changed career 10 years ago to venture into the BPO industry. I’ve been working as a Technical Support Specialist Level 2 to one of the promising IT companies “Siemens Inc”, currently known as Atos Information Technology in Manila Philippines.

I’ve stayed my wonderful 5 years in that company and I could say that I’ve learned a lot. I owe to that company what I am now as a person and a career woman. Not only did it developed my spoken English, but most importantly my self-development as a person. It helped me to become reliable, self-driven, self-reliant, able to build rapport and most of all my self confidence.

Sadly, I had to make a huge decision in my life and put my career on hold to take care of my father who passed away mae-joy-lazaro-office3 years ago. As the nurse in the family and being the youngest, I has to attend to my father’s needs. I moved from the big city back to my province and hometown (Bacolod) bringing my husband and my 3 kids with me. It’s been a tough decision for me. But family comes first.

Success can be achieved if you look back to the people who helped you achieve it. I went back to my hometown bringing a little savings that could last for only a month or two. I had to find a stable job to sustain my family needs. I applied to high paying call centers in my province but still it was not enough. My father’s condition was getting worse. He was diagnosed to have Prostate CA and bedridden for almost 9 months. My sisters who both live in Australia for the meantime support my father and the whole family since I had to leave my job to attend my father’s needs.

After my father passed away in 2016, I got pregnant with my fourth and 2 months after I gave birth, I decided to apply for online jobs. I got my first teaching job and have been working for the company for 2 years now. Then, last year a group of Chinese went to Queensland and one of them was able to meet my sister. She was able to introduce me to her new friend and right after we talked, she hired me as her personal English tutor when she went back to China. I quit my job in my previous company and dedicated myself to my students and made their lessons more interactive and meaningful.

Until now, I have more than 10 students but mostly our classes are on weekends. I have a lot of time during weekdays and I usually use it to clean the house and attend to my 3 year old kid. It has been my dream to become a VA because I believe I have the capability to be one. I want to venture into new things and I want to meet lots of people that could both inspire me and push me to my limits.

For a copy of Mae’s resume please click here.